Pine Mountain Recreation Area

There are two loops connecting Pine Mountain - the East Loop and the West Loop. This is a rugged and challenging hike that reaches 1,562 feet above sea level. Once you reach the top of this mountain you will be at the highest point in the City of Cartersville.

This land is part of 13,000 acres that was the original site of Mark Anthony Cooper's Iron Empire.

Pine Mountain Recreation Area now includes a connector to the US Army Corps of Engineers Cooper's Furnace Trail.

The trail is open daily for hiking. Mountain biking is allowed on Wednesday and Saturday on the East Loop only. Bikers must wear a helmet and follow the color-directional signs for those days.

East Loop Directions: I-75 to Exit 290, east on GA Highway 20, right at traffic light onto GA Spur 20, continue approximately four miles. The East Loop Trailhead access and parking area are on the right, just past Bartow Beach Road.

West Loop Directions: I-75 Exit 288, east on Main Street, at the end of Main Street turn right and the West Loop Trailhead access and parking area is on the left.

Pine Mountain Brochure
Pine Mountain and Cooper's Furnace Trail Network

Organized Hikes
Come hike with us in the full moonlight on Pine Mountain.

2016 Guided Moonlight Hikes
(West Trailhead)
Date  Meeting Time  Departure Time 
Saturday, January 23, 2016 4:45pm 5:00pm
Monday, February 22, 2016 5:15pm 5:30pm
Wednesday, March 23, 2016 6:45pm 7:00pm
Friday, April 22, 2016 7:15pm 7:30pm
Saturday, May 21, 2016 7:30pm 7:45pm
Monday, June 20, 2016 8:00pm 8:15pm
Tuesday, July 19, 2016 7:30pm 7:45pm
Thursday, August 18, 2016 7:30pm 7:45pm
Friday, September 16, 2016 6:45pm 7:00pm
Sunday, October 16, 2016 6:15pm 6:30pm
Monday, November 14, 2016 (Super Moon) 4:45pm 5:00pm
Tuesday, December 13, 2016 4:45pm 5:00pm

Additional Guided Hikes 
Date Meeting Time  Departure Time 
Saturday, March 5, 2016
(Mayor Matt’s March Mountain March)
 Monday, June 20, 2016
(Summer Solstice)
 8:00pm  8:15pm
 Monday, July 4, 2016
(Fireworks Watch)
8:15pm 8:30pm
 Wednesday, December 21, 2016
(Winter Solstice)
4:30pm 4:45p